Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission

Monday, April 9, 2018
Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Dale Lueck, Chair
Sen. Jerry Newton, Vice Chair
Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein
Rep. Sandy Layman
Rep. Julie Sandstede
Sen. Greg Clausen
Sen. Justin Eichorn
Sen. Carrie Ruud
Sen. Eric Pratt

EXCUSED:

Sen. John Hoffman Rep. Tim O'Driscoll Rep. Linda Slocum

Rep. Lueck called the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission meeting to order at 9:20 a.m. on Monday, April 9, 2018 in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

Rep. Sandstede moved to approve the Minutes from March 19, 2018. **Motion carried.**

Tom Landwehr, Commissioner, MN DNR and Aaron VandeLinde, Director, Office of School Trust Lands provided and update on the major school trust projects.

Aaron VandeLinde, Director, Office of School Trust Lands and Tom Landwehr, Commissioner, MN DNR presented the Draft copy of the Operating Agreement. They are anticipating that it will be signed April 20th.

Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor and Jo Vos from the OLA presented information regarding the upcoming evaluation process for the Permanent School Trust Fund.

Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner, MN DNR and Aaron VandeLinde, Director, Office of School Trust Lands discussed the School Trust Compensation bills. (HF2499 and SF2258)

Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner, MN DNR and Aaron VandeLinde, Director, Office of School Trust Lands provided information regarding the "No Net Gain Proposals" and impact on school trust acres.

Again, The Western States Land Commissioners Association summer conference, being held in Duluth from July 8-12, was discussed. Members are asked to advise of their interest before the end of session in order for timely registration (and funding to be allocated).

April Kane testified regarding personal body safety for children.

Next commission meeting scheduled for April 23rd, 09:15-10:15 am in the Basement Hearing Room of SOB.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:12 a.m.